A book you can eat… That was a completely novel (pardon the pun) idea to me when I first heard of the International Edible Book Festival; it was mentioned briefly in the syllabus of our Book Beautiful honors seminar. As it turned out, our class would be participating in our own celebration of edible books.

Well, as soon as I discovered that, my brain went into motion. What sort of edible book could I create? For the longest time, I had nothing. No plans…not even the hint of an idea. At first, that was okay; it was January, after all. The book wasn’t due until April; I had plenty of time.

Then came March, and the panicking commenced.

Finally, an idea came to me. My inspiration came from a verse of the Bible:  “Man shall not live by bread alone, but by every word that proceeds from the mouth of God” (Matthew 4:4). That may be true, but what if the word of God is made out of bread…or cake? The perfect pun was beginning to form in my head.

This particular idea was actually a fortunate one for me; my boyfriend’s mother, upon catching wind of my plan, immediately offered up her cake pan that was conveniently shaped like an open book. That knocked out having to sculpt the cake, making my job much easier.

After that, everything just fell into place. I could use chocolate fondant to represent the binding and a bookmark, and buttercream icing would make the perfect covering to symbolize the pages. Both of those aspects would also go very well with yellow cake, my flavor of choice. Sugar sheet letters would be perfect to form the verse.

The cake, which took several hours to construct, was well worth the effort… I won “Most Pun-derful”!

My Creation!

 

 

