Let me begin by saying that I am no expert on paper. I can appreciate the smell of the paper in an old (or new) book, and I can write rather prettily on  paper. However, when it comes to identifying the type of paper I am reading from or writing on, I am absolutely useless.

I’ve searched high and low for what type of paper might have been used to create my baby, scouring the textbook and the internet, but I have been unable to find anything of real use. I’ve found websites on the bestselling books of the 1920s; I’ve found websites on vintage paper dolls. 

I’ve spent more time than I care to admit just examining the pages of my baby; for anyone who cares to know, my baby’s pages are a lovely shade of antiqued white, feel thin yet sturdy, smell rather musty (in that appealing way that only books can), and have an odd diamond-patterned texture. However, as I am no expert on paper, none of these qualities help me in the slightest.

Even though I could not find anything on the type of paper my baby was made from, I did stumble upon something very interesting…a website devoted to  the design used in the Everyman’s Library, the collection into which my baby was born .

From this website, I discovered  that my baby was published in the first era of the Everyman’s Library, the Flat-Back Era (which lasted from 1906-1928). I discovered that my baby belongs to the fiction section of the collection, one section out of thirteen. 

While my search on my baby’s paper was fruitless, I believe it was fruitful in other ways. I found invaluable (at least to me) information on my baby’s family, and that is good enough for me.

